Happy Birthday Mom


mom_0714.jpg My mom treasured my hand-made cards when I was a kid, and it’s been a while since I’ve made one for her. It was inspired by the gates of La Vie En Rose.

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wousie
    Oct 24, 2007 @ 19:34:14

    Totally, totally gorgeous Cece!!!!!!!!!!! She’s gonna love it! I love it! So beautiful!! I really like the ribbon banner too, neat depth!

    Reply

  2. Claire
    Sep 28, 2008 @ 14:03:11

    how did you make it its terrific its my moms birthday the day after tommorow so i was wondering if you could tell me how to make it thank you bye

    Reply

  3. buddhabellies
    Sep 29, 2008 @ 15:35:31

    Thank you for your compliments on my mom’s birthday card. It’s her favorite.

    To make it, first I made the heart by folding a full pink strip in half and rolling the tips inwards. I deliberately glued it asymmetrically because it’s hard to make things perfectly even.

    Next I used deep burgundy strips in varying lengths about 1/3 to 1/4 the length of my pink strip. Quilling the “S” scroll tightly, I would then gently unravel the tips of the “S” until I liked the shape I saw. Examples:

    http://www.theartfulcrafter.com/quillery.html

    http://www.tjcdesigns.co.uk/history-of-quilling-c261.html

    After loosening a few of these S scrolls, I would gently place them inside the pink heart and flex them until they nestled into the right spot. If I didn’t have much room, I would just use my slotted tool to coil a little tighter/looser to make it fit.

    Look at where each scroll touches another and slide a toothpick dabbed with glue in between the paper, letting the glue come off – it’s quite hidden. The heart will quickly fill in. Then I glued the whole thing down.

    Lastly I typed my message on a curve, cut along top and bottom, notched V’s on ends, then coiled it gently and glued it on top.

    I hope this helps you and I know your mom will enjoy her card!

    Cecelia

    Reply

  4. bushi
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 15:44:42

    Very nice and adorable! i must say.keep it up.

    Reply

  5. VivianChong
    Nov 06, 2010 @ 23:39:11

    awesome much ;)

    Reply

  6. diya
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 01:16:53

    v gd weldone v nice

    Reply

  7. Trackback: 2010 in review « Crafting Creatures
  8. jennifer germanotta
    Sep 22, 2011 @ 01:26:07

    my mom is turnin 30 this month 27…and i want to give her the best card ever…if u have an idea plss add me on msn and facebook…my face book is jennifer germanotta..and msn add is dokatolyn@hotmail.com..

    Reply

  9. Trackback: double ten « c’est la vie
  10. abeeia
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 05:00:27

    i made this kind on an art competetion but they were thouuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuzzzzzzaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaannnnnnnnnnnnndddddddddddddddddddzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz time awsum thn this silly stuff!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! thu!!!!!!! yukkkkkhhhhhhhhhhhhyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyieeeeee..

    Reply

  11. jamie
    Aug 25, 2012 @ 01:39:12

    Lovely card…made this for my mom too..hope she likes it too!!

    Reply

  12. Danielle
    Sep 15, 2012 @ 17:04:09

    Hi there, I found this card on a web search and it inspired me to make one of my own for my mothers birthday. I just wanted to tell you what a great job you did and thanks for the idea.

    Reply

  13. Lana
    Feb 25, 2013 @ 18:35:42

    Hello!
    Thank you very much for the idea! I’m making this for my mother’s 47th birthday and hopefully going to add flowers also made from the same style! I hope she likes it! Keep up the great work! :)

    Reply

    • Cee
      Feb 25, 2013 @ 18:38:15

      Hi Lana, I’m always happy to hear I’ve inspired another person to try quilling. Please let me know how it turns out!

      Cecelia

      Reply

  14. Chadwick
    Apr 04, 2013 @ 23:56:45

    I’d like to find out more? I’d want to find out more
    details.

    Reply

  15. Cee
    May 05, 2013 @ 08:00:15

    Hi Marc, thanks for wanting to follow me. It’s easy to do. Just enter your email address on the right hand column, under “Email Subscription”. Cecelia

    Reply

  16. Trackback: It’s my mum’s birthday today! | Mom (with cancer) blog: It's Because I Said So!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 333 other followers

