Quilled Jade


 A special gift for a special girl.

The frame is a 9×9″ shadow box from Ikea. The “jade” letters are outlined and printed on a sheet of card. I cut it out from it’s background and filled the insides with flowers and swirls. I then put folded posts underneath to raise it .5″ high, and glued on polka dot patterned scrapbook paper.

The background swirl was glued in place after the letters were set. I think the one swirl that was allowed to come forward to brush the “j” adds to the depth. Of course the cherry on top of the cupcake is the pièce de résistance.

I offer instructions on how to make my flowers and hope you’ve been inspired!

40 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. angela
    Jan 04, 2010 @ 09:05:14

    So gorgeous!!! Great Job CEC!

    Reply

  2. Sheila
    Jan 05, 2010 @ 06:13:11

    Your work is gorgeous! I am new to paper quilling and I was wondering if you would mind telling me how you get your flower petals so loose. Do you make a coil first or is there some other technique that I haven’t discovered yet?
    Many blessings,
    Sheila

    Reply

    • buddhabellies
      Jan 05, 2010 @ 06:33:03

      Hi Sheila,

      Thanks for your compliments! My first inspiration quilling book was from Klutz.

      The open flower petal technique is not common in quilling methods. I wanted to have a more open/graphic feeling in what I was making, and make my elements faster for cards. I start with a length of quilling paper and fold in intervals, then gently curl the paper like curling ribbon, then re-fold. It ends up looking like scalloped scissors shaped the quilling strip. Then I glue on those folds and attach to the petal center. I have made detailed and photographed instructions here:

      http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=33797618

      Cecelia

      Reply

      • Sheila
        Jan 05, 2010 @ 08:21:59

        Thanks, Cecelia. I’m going to give it a try. One more thing…regarding the letters you used for Jade – is that something I can find on the internet? I’d love to try something similar for my daughter Shelby.

        Sheila

        I chose a font I liked and using a computer program called Adobe Illustrator, squished the letters close together so they overlapped. I can merge the letters together where they touch and make one big shape. Then I outlined the letters with a thick border and cut out the background using an x-acto knife. I hope that helps you.

        Cecelia

  3. Cathy
    Jan 06, 2010 @ 00:42:01

    This is beautiful… I think I might just have to try something like this one day

    Reply

  4. wousie
    Jan 06, 2010 @ 09:20:02

    Amazing work Cec. Jade will cherish this forever. Thank you for such a thoughtful gift and thanks for sharing your techniques!

    Reply

  5. shibby1327
    Jan 15, 2010 @ 20:42:55

    This is so neat, I love it. Maybe I’ll have to try to make something like this for our little one who is due any day now. Plus I’d like to get into paper quilling; I think it’s so neat. Thanks so much for sharing!!

    Reply

  6. Gabriela Delworth
    Jan 26, 2010 @ 17:36:49

    Hello,

    These are fabulous projects!

    ~ Gabriela ~

    Reply

  7. Sonal Samir
    Jan 29, 2010 @ 02:04:06

    hey,
    Your work is just amazing!
    i wanted to know how thick quilling strips did you take for such a project?

    Reply

  8. Ana
    Feb 05, 2010 @ 15:25:09

    I love it!!!! Its wonderfull!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  9. L a u r a
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 16:46:00

    This is absolutely amazing! I love your quilling and fun crafts–right up my alley! Thank you for being so gracious in sharing your tips.

    Reply

  10. Nicole
    Apr 14, 2010 @ 04:42:45

    Hi,

    Im very new to quilling and I love your Jade art. I stumbled upon it while surfing the neet and it was your “jade” that inspired me to to start quilling. It looks so fresh and professional.

    Ive learned how to make the larger flower and the swirls but I cannot figure out how to make the simple hollow petal flowers. (I know how silly it sounds) I cannot find any instructions for that little flower and i think it would look very nice on a card Im making. everytime I try and make one its petals have creases on them or they are diffrent lengths and they just look awesful!

    I WAS WONDERING IF ANYONE WOULD BE ABLE TO HELP ME! i NEED SOME INSTRUCTION TO MAKE THOSE PRETTY LITTLE FOWERS!!

    I would really appreciate any help!

    Thanks so much

    nicole_jessup@hotmail.com

    Reply

    • buddhabellies
      Apr 14, 2010 @ 05:09:04

      Hi Nicole,

      Thank you for your kind words :) I’m thrilled to have inspired you to take up quilling! The hollow petal style is something I developed to make my flowers faster and to give it a modern, graphic look. It took 2 months to document and measure my steps – I now offer it on Etsy. I hope you continue to enjoy quilling for years as I have. – Cecelia

      http://www.etsy.com/shop/CraftingCreatures

      Reply

  11. Trackback: 2010 in review « Crafting Creatures
  12. Britta
    May 31, 2011 @ 06:15:10

    I love this! Can you please tell me which font you used for this project? I would love to make Occupied/Vacant door signs for the bathroom. Thank you :)

    Reply

    • Cee
      May 31, 2011 @ 15:09:08

      Hi Britta, I used a font called Palatino and moved the letters around so they touched. This way her name was all in one piece and the quilling could spill over each letter. For the “e”, I thought it looked more whimsical being tilted – I was able to do this on a graphic design program called Adobe Illustrator. Good luck with your signage – I’d love to see what you create!

      Reply

  13. Beebs
    Jun 06, 2011 @ 09:33:28

    Hello,
    Is this for sale on your website?

    Beebs

    Reply

    • Cee
      Jun 06, 2011 @ 10:29:07

      Hi Beebs, I’m flattered by your question and regret to say the Jade monogram is not for sale. It was a gift I made for a friend’s daughter. It took about 2 weeks to complete in stages and worth every minute.

      I do show how to make the flowers in my PDF instructions, sold on my Etsy store: http://www.etsy.com/shop/CraftingCreatures

      Cecelia

      Reply

  14. Beebs
    Sep 11, 2011 @ 03:13:21

    :( I was soooooo ready to buy this!! But that’s for replying.

    Reply

  15. TwirledPeace
    Sep 24, 2011 @ 15:44:34

    This is wonderfully inspiring. Beautiful work… thank you for sharing!

    Reply

  16. Annette
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 14:43:30

    Cecilia,
    Thank you so much for sharing your talent! My mother got me started on quilling about 15 years ago. Now with 3 little ones I have little time to really get anything started. I do snowflakes (as a tradition and to give away to a few selected family and friends) every year and that’s about it. But now that I am a member of Pinterest,,,,,,WOw,……I am just fascinated by the BEAUTIFUL work that you do! (and as some others) I now want to get my little fingers busy!! Thank you again!! Some call this a craft but to me it is purely ART!!! Such amazing beauty that is created from something as simple as paper!!!! :0)

    Reply

    • Cee
      Jan 11, 2012 @ 15:21:40

      Hi Annette, thanks for such a life-affirming wonderfully warm comment! You’ve plastered a smile on me to last the whole week! I’m happy to hear you are inspired to quill more often. Happy quilling to you! Cecelia

      Reply

  17. Tricia
    Feb 06, 2012 @ 04:19:35

    My Grandmother taught me to quill when I was a child and am finally getting back into it….thanks to seeing this on Pinterest! I’ve already gotten most of the flowers done but am having trouble with the open flowers…like many others are having! I’ll check out Esty for instructions. Thanks for inspiring me!

    Reply

    • Cee
      Feb 06, 2012 @ 06:41:45

      Hi Tricia,
      I’m thrilled to hear I’ve inspired you – thank you! I hope you continue to enjoy quilling for years as I have. Thanks for checking out my Etsy store!

      Cecelia

      Reply

  18. Kristi
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 04:37:51

    Hi, I was just wondering how much the name was? I have two girls and I would love to give them their own.

    Reply

  19. Rochelle Kirkwood
    Mar 29, 2012 @ 08:01:56

    Hi Everyone,

    I stumbled upon Cecelia’s beautiful artwork while surfing the web. I just purchased her instructions on how to make the open flowers. If you’re wondering if it’s worth the money, the answer is: YES! The instructions are very detailed and precise. The step-by-step photos are clear and of amazing quality.

    Thanks, Cecelia for sharing your passion for this art. I’m already busy attempting to copy this beautiful piece…which is a compliment to the artist.

    Reply

  20. Samantha
    May 22, 2012 @ 14:07:01

    I just had to say how lovely this is!!! You’ve inspired me to try it on my own!

    Reply

  21. tatianaslove
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 10:38:51

    omg this is sooo beautiful! I’m stay at home mom, and gotta have some kind of hobby and occupation lol:) so I saw quilling pictures in my friend’s photo album on facebook, and I already ordered the tools and paper cuz I wanna start asap. anyways, when I saw “Jade” it inspired me to do one for my daughter Chloe:) thank you so much for this idea, it’s so beautiful, and thank you for explaining how to do it! can’t wait to have it done!

    Reply

    • Cee
      Aug 16, 2012 @ 10:54:01

      Thanks so much Taianaslove! You’ve made my day :D I’m always thrilled to hear I’ve inspired someone to give quilling a try. Happy quilling to you!

      Cecelia

      Reply

  22. Aakriti
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 05:48:05

    please please please TELL ME HOW TO MAKE THOSE FLOWERS!!!!!!!!
    that pdf file always comes up as \”sold\” on the link that you\’ve given. I\’ve tried searching the entire internet, each and every quilling site but I just cant find a tutorial for them. im absolutely fascinated by them. Please cecelia show me a video tutorial for that. please :(

    Reply

    • Cee
      Aug 30, 2012 @ 05:51:38

      Hi Aakriti, I’m sorry you’ve been unable to purchase the flowers. I’m happy to hear you’re inspired to try this project. I have a listing here for the step-by-step instructions: http://www.craftsy.com/project/view/quilling-flowers/42708

      Cecelia

      Reply

      • Aakriti
        Aug 30, 2012 @ 06:06:59

        wish i could buy that :(. I live in India and I’m just 12. There’s no way my parents would let me buy something online. India is not like the US or UK.
        plus 5$ is like 280 INR (not at all cheap)
        But its k. I understand that you obviously can’t do it for free as if it was charity.
        I love your art.
        you and inna from increations have inspired me to take up quilling seriously. I wish we had quilling tools and quilling paper available here. Right now I just use a toothpick and cut strips of the cheap thick chartpaper that we get in stationery shops here.
        Keep posting lovely quilling designs.

  23. angie
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 08:24:59

    Hello!
    Love this idea. Just curious, what font did you use or did you free-hand it?
    Thanks!

    Reply

  24. Sara
    Jul 30, 2013 @ 04:34:35

    I absolutely love this!!! And now I am inspired to make one for my baby girl. Where can I download the font that you have used?

    Reply

    • Cee
      Jul 30, 2013 @ 05:17:59

      Thank Sara, I’m happy to hear you’re inspired. The font is called Palatino and it came with my Mac. If it doesn’t come with your PC, I’m sure another font will do too.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 320 other followers

