Dream Poppies Summer Handbag


I’ve been inspired again! I’m coming out of crafting retirement!

As much as I love designer handbags, I also enjoy a fun and funky summer bag.

Here is a cotton twill tote that I whipped up this weekend. I looked at a few images and then designed my own pattern from there. It is completely lined with pockets for my blackberry and other junk.

It took less than a day to complete. Maybe 4 hours?

The fabric is called “Forest Dream Poppies” from Amy Butler’s August Fields collection. I bought half a meter of the Amy Butler fabric but definitely didn’t need that much. I have left overs and can make another smaller tote.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. buddhabellies
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 07:33:48

    I can’t believe it only took you 4 hours! I think I wouldn’t finish after 4 weeks. Nice to have you come out of retirement – it’s a wonderful project to celebrate it with. :)

    Reply

  2. Crochet
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 07:55:56

    Wow, awesome job! Love this bag. Perfect for the summer !!!

    Reply

  3. Trail's Crafts
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 09:32:17

    Great summer bag! I like the design.

    Reply

  4. Shani
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 11:58:44

    Ange, I love this!!! Now I’m itching to take my sewing machine out! I have some damask fabric and the brown sateen left. It’s not that summery looking though. The lining and pockets look awesome!!!

    Reply

  5. Z
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 23:08:17

    wow thats great! wish i was so skilled! I’ve been wanting to buy a bag, but if I was that talented I would just make one!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 326 other followers

