Hot off the press!


It’s been a pie-in-the-sky fantasy of mine to be published one day, and never imagined that pie could fall out into my lap. I was contacted last year by a scout at Quarto Publishing, UK, who found my quilling instructions on Etsy. Almost a year later, I gingerly pull out my advanced copy from the mail box.

The process was long – not the quilling part, but the photography. My husband endured my endless frustrations with lighting, focus, and composition. We became Twister-masters, as he helped me shoot while both my hands were explaining the process of quilling. Literally could not have done it without him!

Within the 4 spreads, I show how to make basic shapes and open petal flowers posted in this blog. I’ve not seen this technique in any other book so far. I was also challenged by Quarto to create a butterfly and am quite pleased with the final example.

The book features many other esteemed paper artists (my work is sitting alongside Yulia Brodskaya‘s – wow!)  and will be available on Amazon by next month. ISBN 978-0-7624-4087-0

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ange of all trades
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 09:18:28

    this is so awesome! I can’t wait to buy my own copy.

    I must have your autograph! Congrats Cec!

    Reply

  2. Crochet
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 09:34:08

    Ohmygoodness congrats on being published. What a huge accomplishment!

    Reply

  3. dee
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 09:40:08

    CONGRATS CEC!!! We knew you could do it!!! I want autograph too!!!

    Reply

  4. Michele
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 09:49:57

    Hey very cool, Cec, there you are right on the cover!!

    Reply

  5. lilz
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 11:39:30

    you deserve the spotlight…love it love it :)
    congrats!

    Reply

  6. Geoffery
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 15:07:11

    Very Cool! Congratulations!!!

    Reply

  7. Charlotte
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 04:01:00

    I am so excited for you! How wonderful that your work is being recognized by others. Congratulations!

    Reply

  8. Ann Martin
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 13:19:44

    Congratulations, Cecelia! I’m thrilled for you – such a well-deserved honor.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 325 other followers

