Quilled E Monogram


I’ve just discovered Moxie Fab World through a reader’s post of an intricately quilled heart, by Sweet Spot Cards. MFW have weekly challenges in their side bar, and I was pleased to find the right stuff in my stash for their “Pretty Pastels Color Challenge for Color Inspiration for Card Makers Week in the Moxie Fab World“, shown below:

So I made a monogram for a friend who is turning 40 and requested a no gift policy – well, I’ll still be able to say “I didn’t buy anything.” I wanted to show the flowers bursting forth in different stages of bloom. The “moat” which corrals the quilled flowers ends up hiding the quilled base from most angles; tilting the blossoms on their sides doesn’t hurt either. I designed each flower pattern and cut them digitally on the Silhouette.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ann
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 14:16:19

    That is beautiful. You did a fabulous job on that

    Reply

  2. Deen
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 15:53:20

    Wow, this is incredibly gorgeous. The flowers are bursting out of the photo too!!! You win the weekly colour challenge in my books ;-)

    Reply

  3. ange of all trades
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 14:13:10

    I’m speechless! Words don’t describe how wonderful this is! Amazing Cec!

    Reply

  4. ange of all trades
    Apr 11, 2011 @ 08:17:53

    I look at this again today and I’m still amazed. You are so talented Cec!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Fringed Flowers for Quilling « Crafting Creatures
  6. miguel
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 16:11:02

    Amazing work !the flowers are stunning.
    I want to try something like that, but I m considering to make the letter surrounded by flowers. I wish I could have your talent to make them so alive.

    Reply

    • Cee
      Apr 26, 2012 @ 05:27:19

      Hi Miguel, thanks for your kind words. Surrounding the letter with the flowers is certainly an option I was tempted with too. I like the idea of the flowers peeking from behind it. I’d love to see your finished masterpiece. It just takes a bit of practice to make the petals curl, but really it’s just like curling ribbon. Happy quilling! Cecelia

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 320 other followers

