3D Paper Star for Xmas Tree Topper (FREE SVG, DXF, PDF)


I didn’t have a tree topper and was inspired after seeing how easy it was to make a 3D paper star on Kim’s blog, Craftaphile. I added a stem and it seemed like I planned how well it fit on that topmost tree tip. The actual size is about 7.5″ wide x 9.5″ high.

I’m offering my die cut files free. I’d love to hear your comments like how it cut for you on your machine. The file formats are in SVG, DXF, and PDF (cutting by hand is also easy). They are all compressed into a ZIP file for you to download.

You’ll notice there’s a “front” and “back”, but really it’s just one has tabs and the other doesn’t. I pre-fold along all the lines (Craftaphile shows great photos) then use white glue and work with 2 tabs at a time, holding until the glue sets. After it’s assembled, the creases remember where they need to move and it just poofs out into 3D! Try it!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bastian
    Dec 13, 2011 @ 21:51:01

    AWESOME! Built this with the kids who wanted a tree-topping star and I looked all over for this. Now it sits on the tree in crisp perfection.

    Reply

  2. EVe
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 11:54:18

    Thnx for these nice cutting files. I cut and build one for a colleague

    Reply

  3. Trackback: MicroJivvy » 1/12 Scale Victorian Christmas Tree
  4. Jivvy
    Dec 10, 2012 @ 17:48:59

    Thank you for this! It was a complete lifesaver when I needed a tree topper for a miniature tree I made — easy to follow instructions and perfect pattern (of course, I had to reduce the size quite a bit ;) ).

    Reply

    • Cee
      Dec 11, 2012 @ 06:10:16

      Hi Jivvy, your mini tree looks absolutely postcard perfect. I love what you did with the spray on the star and I’m so happy to hear my star worked out so well for you! Thanks for leaving me a comment. Cecelia

      Reply

  5. Trackback: Decorating a Christmas tree Canucks-style [VIDEO]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 334 other followers

