Koigu Mittens


I whipped up some mittens (I’ve always loved mittens). I finally thought of the perfect item for me to make using this lovely Koigu yarn I bought half price at 3 Bags Full on Main St. These are the softest wool items I own! Wow. I see why it’s important to buy expensive, higher end wool. These are not scratchy wool at all and seem quite durable. I did the very tips of the fingers (including tips of thumb) in Single Crochet, then increased to Half Double Crochet for speediness. I am definitely a Koigu Kerstye Crepe Merino fan now!!! And it’s made in Canada (I think).

mittens_koigu koigu_emeralds2 koigu_emeralds

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cecelia
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 18:59:15

    gorgeous! now you’ll feel like you’re shopping for wool everywhere you go! love the way the ribbed cuff looks.

    Reply

  2. Angela
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 22:39:45

    I love them! They look so cozy.

    You’ve inspired me I want to make some too!

    Great job Mar!

    Reply

  3. deldobuss
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 22:51:40

    They are very beautiful. I am partial to green.

    Where did you find the pattern? Are they sewn up, or crocheted in the round?

    Reply

  4. Wousie
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 22:54:31

    Hello Deldobuss. Thank you for the compliment. They are crocheted in the round. For this particular weight of yarn (sport weight) I did the regular increase 6 at every round, then at 36 sc in the round, I kept just single crochet around. All the way down until the thumb. I made up the pattern.

    Reply

  5. deldobuss
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 16:13:18

    very cool!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

