custom dog crate slip cover


This is a slip cover I custom made for my dog’s new crate. I picked the wire crate b/c I thought it would be less stuffy in the summer but the breeder warned me that its will allow hair to escape making it a little messier so I made a custom slip cover to address that problem.

The fabric was 6.99 a meter from Ikea. I used about 3.5 meters. It’s complete with two flap doors. Right now we need this door but when he’s bigger, we can turn the crate around and use the other door.

Now it’sa fashionable and functionable crate!

IMG_0454

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary
    Sep 01, 2009 @ 06:13:10

    I can’t wait to see Bruce in there!

    Reply

  2. buddhabellies
    Sep 01, 2009 @ 06:15:53

    All the other dogs on the block are going to be so jealous of this posh pooch pad! Great job Ange!

    Reply

  3. Wousie
    Sep 02, 2009 @ 13:07:19

    Holy crap, this is amazing. it fits so perfectly around the crate — great idea and nice work.

    Reply

  4. Karen
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 15:13:19

    How did you make this slipcover?

    Reply

    • ange of all trades
      Sep 01, 2011 @ 19:12:19

      Hi Karen, I kinda just winged it.
      I took measurements of all the panels – top, sides and back. Cut the fabric and sewed the side, top and side panels together so it formed one bit row. Next I pined this long piece around the back panel. I measured out some strips that aligned just right around the crate door and sewed that to the front. The last part was the flaps.
      Since my crate has two doors, a side and front, I accounted for a side flap too. You just can’t see it b/c that one with the side has been positioned against the wall.
      Hope this helps!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 320 other followers

