Velcro Bag Crazy


I’ve seen tons of these sold on Etsy, and had to try making them myself. Quite easy. Velcro’s cheap. Gave me a chance to use up some new Amy Butler fabrics I bought.

Fabrics (top, L to R, back to front): Michael Miller Dandy Damask/Spa, Amy Butler Park Fountains/Green, Amy Butler Martini/Gold, Michael Miller Disco Dot/Ink, Amy Butler Nouveau Trees/Moss, Amy Butler Wallflower/Cherry.

Some bags are lined with water resistant rip-stop nylon (bright yellow lining), which I’m gonna try using as dry snack bags (pretzels or crackers) and see how they hold up. The white lined ones I’m gonna try using as reusable sandwich bags. Not waterproof, but I always feel guilty using plastic bags. These I can just toss into the wash and line dry.

I also made one to fit my iTouch (or iPhone). It’s got the same water resistant rip-stop nylon lining. It helps being a bit less dusty. I’m loving it because I never had anything to protect my precious iTouch, except it’s rubber case (no screen protector), so this is just what I needed for it.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shani
    Aug 02, 2010 @ 19:27:08

    Hey Mar! These are great. Let me know how snacks hold up in these. I saved a bit of the damask fabric for small projects. They look easy enough for me to sew.

    Reply

    • wousie
      Aug 02, 2010 @ 19:29:40

      Hey Shani!! Yeah, I bet you recognize some of them fabrics, eh?
      These were super easy to make. I’ll let you know about the snacks. I suspect since they aren’t air-tight it can only hold snacks for a few hours — not overnight. Or they’ll get soft. I’m really curious about long it will hold a sandwich in the fridge…
      Thanks for the comment 🙂

      Reply

  2. C
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 05:13:54

    those are “sew” nicely done mar. “sew” you’ve caught another fever haven’t you? i’ve enjoyed my reusable fabric xmas bags, not only because it’s eco-friendly, but also because it was so fast and easy to wrap unusually shaped kid’s toys. these fabrics would make wonderful birthday bags – you wouldn’t even need a bow. sew on girl! 😀

    Reply

  3. Angela
    Aug 06, 2010 @ 05:32:16

    Hey Mar, these are great! I love it! I paid $8 for a small snack pak from a shop on Main. It sucks. becuase it uses an elastic and button.

    I use it as a little make up pouch for the purse and everything is always falling out but the velcro would be perfect!

    Great job!

    Reply

  4. dee
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 11:12:53

    can i order one for my kindle?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

