Hand Quilting in Progress


I’ve always admired people who HAND quilted their quilts. I’ve only recently found a great tutorial online here and thought I’d try it out. I was skeptical about pulling that knot through to the inside of the quilt sandwich, but it worked! I am also loving the look of the hand quilting. I am using coloured craft thread, but next quilt I’ll spend the money and buy pearl cotton.

You can see the variety of pinks I’m using for the hand stitching. There is one lilac colour in there, but it all seems to match alright. I love the puckering that it’s doing. I think it adds to the charm of the hand quilting.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ann
    Aug 22, 2010 @ 12:28:30

    I’ve always admired anyone who can quilt by hand or machine 🙂 I would love to be able to do that. Yours looks very pretty

    Reply

  2. C
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 08:34:34

    how do you make it so straight? somehow my needles have their own steering wheel.

    Reply

    • wousie
      Aug 23, 2010 @ 08:37:50

      Hahahah! Yes, it took a bit of practice and now I have a sore finger, but decently straight stitch lines. Thanks for your comments 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

