Compact Craft Storage


We’ve finally moved and now I have my own craft room. This was my “before” storage for pencils, pens, felts, scissors, blades, erasers. I trimmed down a magazine file cardboard box from Ikea and cut salvaged foam core sheets (would have been trashed from a sign shop) for dividers. It all fit in the tall drawer of the Effectiv shelf from Ikea and I wish I had taken a photo of everything I managed to store in there before the move. Compact yet visible and quickly reachable.

For my various rolls of adhesive, I stacked the smaller rolls on a tiny tube and gave it a bottom – which all fit inside the large tube holding the larger rolls. Who doesn’t love a 2 for 1 deal?

Scored these 2 shelves off Craigslist (actual photo) for $50 each – can you imagine my drool over those drawers? When we got them home, I realized they belong in the Ikea Museum of Real Wood – what a find! During a recent garage sale hunt, I found a .25 cent miter box (helps you cut wood at true angles) which will help me make wooden dividers for each drawer so my pens and utensils can lie flat.

So although I enjoyed being creative in my small space, I am looking forward to having luxurious storage soon.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ann
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 11:03:42

    oh how fun a brand new craft room to fill. Great find on those shelves.

    Reply

  2. Deen
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 12:13:59

    Wicked find! Lucky you!

    Reply

  3. Lori@kitchenfunk
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 12:47:56

    GREAT Craigslist find, but I also love your other ideas. I’ve been searching for ways to get my craft things organized, so I just started a link party (will only go for 4 wks) that focuses on craft organizing (from rooms to drawers). I would love it if you would post this page on the link party! ~Lori
    http://kitchenfunk.blogspot.com/2011/09/mid-week-chaos-clean-up-link-party-1.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 318 other followers

