Kemper Lace Tool for Quilling


broken

“BING!”

That was the sound of my quilling tool snapping off completely. It was also the sound of my heart breaking after 20 years of great use. Was it some kind of Freudian slip that I blogged about this tool recently and had a reader, mariannetolosa, who mentioned she uses it for clay? My sanity was saved knowing I could find it somewhere out there in a craft store near me (Vancouver, BC).

kemper

DeSerres sold two bookbinding awls but the Lineco Light Duty Awl didn’t taper smoothly or come to as fine a point (imagine sharpening a pencil with an x-acto knife). The Heavy Duty Awl was too large a circumference. Their clay section offered an awl but was part of a larger tool package. I finally found the $4 Kemper Lace Tool at Opus on Granville Island and did a silent scream/dance of joy in the aisles.

Thank you mariannetolosa – you saved my sanity!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. snap-schotts
    Jan 01, 2013 @ 12:21:15

    You only bought ONE replacement?! I would have bought at least a couple…but then again, I’m just that way! Happy Quilling!

    Reply

  2. May
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 08:49:34

    Can u please advise where in Vancouver BC I can buy a simple slotted tool? I tried loomas but they are out of stock. I am a just beginner. Thanks!

    Reply

    • Cee
      Jan 22, 2013 @ 09:01:18

      Hi May, congrats on taking up quilling. I have seen the slotted tool sold at Michaels in Vancouver. You can also get all the supplies you need with this book, which helped me get started in quilling: http://www.amazon.com/Twirled-Paper-Almost-Anything-Simple/dp/1570548080/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

      Reply

      • May
        Jan 22, 2013 @ 09:18:26

        Thank you for your reply! I am very excited to start quilling as well. I tried using a needle but I couldn’t make the paper “stick” to it, so I thought I better get the proper tool. I have checked the Michaels in Richmond and couldn’t find it. I even asked one of the salesperson and she said they don’t carry it. However it seems not many people know about quilling so maybe she doesn’t even know they carry it. Do you know which department I should look? It’s a big place and a small tool. Thanks!

      • Cee
        Jan 22, 2013 @ 09:34:02

        A needle can be used, but my hand would get tired quickly because it’s easier with a handle. Here’s some tips on how to quill with a needle tool. http://makezine.com/craft/101/quilling/

        This is the slotted quilling tool and paper I saw sold at Michaels before, but since I haven’t looked there in years for my supplies (I buy online), perhaps they’ve discontinued it. Maybe a photo of the product might trigger an employee’s memory, but I also don’t see it when I do a search on M’s website.
        http://tethered2home.com/?tag=quilling

Leave a Reply

