Year of the Snake Quilling


quiling, snake, chinese new year

I’m a day early to wish you Happy Year of the Snake, but I couldn’t wait any longer. Besides, the ad is out in today’s Ming Pao and Sing Tao newspapers in Vancouver and Toronto.

This is my first commercial quilling project in my portfolio, and also my largest. The width of the snake is 7.5″ wide, just fitting within my digital die cutter (Silhouette). The Chinese words and Home Depot logo were also cut on the die cutter.

I used regular quilling paper for the words because the spaces were so thin. I cut Canson Mi-Tientes paper for everything else because the extra thickness was needed to traverse a larger distance and hold its shape.

quilling, snake

For those who are curious about the process, a Toronto ad agency presented the mock up on the left and the client approved, then I worked towards that direction.

quilling, snake, chinese new year

I’ll be grabbing a newspaper after breakfast this morning and seeing how it all looks. Happy Year of the Snake everyone!

*** UPDATE*** I’m sorry I got the date mixed up and the ad will be in tomorrow’s paper.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wousie
    Feb 12, 2013 @ 20:19:30

    Congratulations! You are doing what you love and it shows! Beautiful work!

    Reply

  2. yogi
    Feb 13, 2013 @ 10:27:36

    very nice. congrats on your first commercial quilled piece. Have a great day

    Reply

  3. Mariana
    Apr 07, 2013 @ 21:58:28

    Nice , very nice.My son was born in The year of the Snake.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

