Pallet Garden


palletgarden I realize gardening has never been a “craft” subject here, but this was made with hands, love, and ingenuity. We salvaged these pallets from a local warehouse and cut them into thirds. 2 full pallets were used here. 4’x4′ posts screwed to the corners and voila, a beautifully gridded garden bed full of black gold, just waiting for planting. Grid was stapled old venetian blinds. It was inspired by the Square Foot Garden method. Now if we could just ask the previous owners to move along…

ant

30 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Living Dead Girl
    May 22, 2009 @ 08:25:40

    Wow, they are amazing! Well done!

    Reply

  2. Wousie
    May 22, 2009 @ 14:16:22

    I am so inspired!!

    Reply

  3. Angie
    May 31, 2009 @ 06:55:55

    WOW!! Hey so where did you set up this garden??

    Reply

  4. al mintz
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 15:06:38

    love your site. should join me were I am selling veggiie plants this would make perfict appartment garden for veggies.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: 20 Creative Ways to Recycle Pallets in your Garden | The Micro Gardener
  6. Trackback: Pinterest Project – Pallet Garden « Mandy's Money
  7. Michael Ray
    Sep 26, 2012 @ 19:31:24

    The word “genius” would be an understandment in this situation.
    What has since become of this wonderful project? Were there veggies, fruits or herbs planted? Thank you for your uploading this project.

    Reply

    • Cee
      Sep 27, 2012 @ 06:03:41

      LOL thanks Michael. Actually my key word on this project was “frugal”. I lived in a north facing townhome at the time and this unused pallet was discarded in the adjacent thigh high grass/weed/forest empty lot. Tomatoes, potatoes, basil, cucumbers, zucchinis, sage, and even asparagus were planted. We’ve since moved and I hope someone has made a new home in my beloved pallet garden.

      Reply

  8. Trackback: What Can You Find in Pinterest? | Garden Diary
  9. Frieda Gibbs
    Jan 23, 2013 @ 17:10:17

    i wouldn’t use pallets to grow anything edible in them, because you’re never really sure what the wood is, where it’s from or whether it’s been chemically treated.

    Reply

    • Cee
      Jan 24, 2013 @ 07:07:17

      Hi Frieda,

      Yes, I agree that I wouldn’t use chemically treated wood for growing edibles. However, I used a very cheap pallet that was meant to be discarded after one use, so I doubt they spared the expense to make it last.

      Here’s a link to the Wikipedia info on pallets where I found the quote below:
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pallet

      The cheapest pallets are made of softwood and are often considered expendable, to be discarded as trash along with other wrapping elements, at the end of the trip.

      Reply

    • Justine
      Mar 19, 2013 @ 07:44:32

      There are stamps on pallets that tell you how they were treated. The only ones that are safe to handle or use for edible gardening will have “HT” on the stamp, meaning they were only heat treated. I saw this idea (from this blog) on Pinterest and decided to look into it. I’m excited! I’m having my husband check out the pallets he has access to through his work today!

      Reply

      • Cee
        Mar 19, 2013 @ 17:54:16

        Hi Justine, that’s an awesome piece of knowledge. Thanks for researching and sharing that! Please let us know how it looks when you’re all done.

  10. Trackback: BASIC LIST / SUGGESTED ITEMS FOR LONG TERM SURVIVAL - Page 296 - ALIPAC
  11. drocto
    Feb 22, 2013 @ 16:30:36

    Very cool. Larger photos would be VERY helpful to see detail of construction.

    Reply

    • Cee
      Feb 23, 2013 @ 08:29:37

      Thanks Drocto. To be honest I never imagined so many would be interested in what we made, so I didn’t take better shots. Have fun making your pallet garden!

      Reply

  12. Kalyn
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 11:18:39

    I am about to do this but on a larger scale! If it works out Ill take some photos for yall! Ive done lots of research and know exactly what I am going to use and exactly how I am going to build it! 🙂

    Reply

  13. Lynne Schrader
    Mar 17, 2013 @ 02:27:47

    we also made some of these and they only lasted 10 months before they started to rot.

    Reply

  14. Trackback: Raised Garden Bed Ideas : Arcadia Farms
  15. Jim Sheehan
    May 24, 2013 @ 09:05:50

    A good friend and I had a short-lived shop where we made everything from pedastals, shelving and sofa tables to coffee tables. All made from entirely from pallet wood. I will post pics from our old website when I have the chance. Since that endeavor, I have been using and planning to use pallets for a ton of projects around the house. From a fence surrounding my garden to a new deck…

    Reply

    • Cee
      May 24, 2013 @ 09:13:12

      Hi Jim, I think it’s wonderful that you are so resourceful with re-using pallets this way! Many have come here and gained insight and appreciation. Keep it up!

      Reply

  16. Brooksie
    Oct 05, 2013 @ 08:51:40

    I have a place down the road from me that gets rid of pallets like one a week or so. I have been racking my brain trying to think of ways to use them. I really like the garden idea, however I need something more long term.
    So thanks to another commenter, Jim Sheehan, I am going to try making a portable, two foot, hinged fence for the rabbitry I am starting in Spring.
    Thank you for posting your garden!

    Reply

  17. Trackback: 23 Clever Pallet Projects
  18. Kensley
    Jun 22, 2014 @ 06:07:19

    A note about pallets for gardening… some may have been used to move / store nasty chemicals that may leech out and end up in your belly

    Reply

    • Cee
      Jun 22, 2014 @ 14:56:27

      Thanks for the warning to everyone making this choice Kensley. The one we used was cheap and meant for immediate disposal, so was not treated.

      Reply

  19. Trackback: Gardening Adventures: 5 Ideas For Recycled Plant Pots | Playful Learners
  20. Trackback: Gardening Adventures: 5 Ideas For Recycled Plant Pots | Playful Learners
  21. Trackback: 20 Creative Ways to Upcycle Pallets in Your Garden | Outdoorbeing

Leave a comment