Butterfly Quilling Pattern / Tuturial

During our moves (renting in between), I found it hard to focus on crafts. So I am impatient to finally launch this new quilling pattern for butterflies. Varying the colors, one can easily change the type of butterfly. The monarch is easily identifiable, but would you believe a teal and brown butterfly actually exists? I found the inspiration here.

This pattern first appeared in the book I contributed to, The New Encyclopedia of Techniques for Crafting with Paper.

However since then I realized written instructions are slower to follow. Instead of writing out the measurements and instructions, I give diagrams – even where to glue and in what order. I hope this inspires you. I’d love to see what you make with my pattern, sold on Etsy for $5.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. vidhi
    Aug 19, 2011 @ 23:00:36

    really awesome


  2. Priyanka Datta
    Aug 20, 2011 @ 05:40:10



  3. Deen
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 12:11:28

    Beautiful quilled butterflies. As I have tried quilling patterns from you before, I know your instructions, photos and diagrams to be incredibly easy to follow and understand. Gorgeous results always! Can’t wait to see more from you!!


  4. Zdeňka
    Sep 11, 2011 @ 22:21:52

    It is a beautifull !!!


  5. jacques langagne
    Apr 14, 2012 @ 21:56:42

    Cecelia Congratulations and thank you for this beautiful butterfly. The tutorial is very well done it makes you want to move on to implementation.
    Your creativity seems boundless look is a feast for the eyes, and again it’s the only thing I can say



    • Cee
      Apr 15, 2012 @ 04:54:35

      Hi Jacques, thank you for letting me know about your success and happiness with my quilling pattern. Happy quilling to you! Cecelia


  6. Missy
    Oct 12, 2012 @ 19:59:11

    That’s beautiful. I’ve been looking for a unique butterfly to make for my mother. I’d love to incorporate this is my design. Thank you for posting this. :)


  7. Betty Turney
    Apr 02, 2013 @ 14:48:48

    I tried to go to Crafty to get directions and measurement to make the butterflies, but for what ever reason, was NOT able to get in. I am really interested in how to get directions. I am 73 and new to quilling


    • Cee
      Apr 03, 2013 @ 05:16:43

      Hi Betty, I’m very happy to hear you’re going to give quilling a go!

      I’m sorry you’ve been having difficulty accessing Craftsy – I haven’t had any problems so far. Would you mind trying to access my tutorial through my Meylah store? It will let you download the pattern immediately after purchase.


      Thanks for having patience with this process and don’t forget to look up once in a while when you’ve been quilling for a half hour or so.



  8. Betty Turney
    Apr 03, 2013 @ 15:39:04

    I tried, my conputer [which is old] freezes up.
    Is there an address I can sent my $5 to for the directions?
    How else can I get the measurements and directions?


Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 363 other followers

