My quilling tool


I’ve recently been asked what type of quilling tool I use, so here it is. I bought it 20 years ago during a student trip to a university book store in the US. I believe it was meant for bookbinding and don’t have a clue what the scooped end is for. I didn’t make books, but I thought it was a well made tool and since it was under $2, it fit my student budget. I had no idea I’d be using it like my right hand today.

I usually quill just a bit from the narrowed tip (highlighted in green) because otherwise the innermost coil is inconsistent due to the taper. I don’t own any other needle quilling tool so I can’t compare with anything else. Although it took some time to transition from a slotted tool, I much prefer the un-crimped innermost coil.

Hope this answers your questions. What’s your favorite quilling tool?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. joyharmon
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 15:38:27

    I just found your blog and I am simply in love with it. I usually don’t care for armigurumi, but you have changed my mind. Your little creatures are so cute. And you’ve also got me wanting to try quilling. Oh, no! I can’t stop.

    Reply

  2. mariannetolosa
    Sep 28, 2012 @ 05:37:53

    It’s a pottery tool! I have one in my studio… for cutting and incising the clay 🙂

    Reply

    • Cee
      Sep 28, 2012 @ 05:38:46

      Thanks so much for helping me solve the mystery, Mariannetolosa! 😀

      cecelia

      Reply

    • Cee
      Dec 05, 2012 @ 06:54:41

      Mariannetolosa, when my beloved quilling tool broke last week I was mortified but quickly remembered you mentioning it being a clay tool, so found it after my third store search. Thank you so much for making a simple comment that saved my sanity! You have no idea how much it meant to me to know it still existed somewhere. Gratefully, Cecelia

      Reply

  3. Trackback: Kemper Lace Tool « Crafting Creatures
  4. pat
    Apr 18, 2014 @ 05:27:32

    Hi that tool with the scooped end is for cleaning ceramic green wear before it is fired. Pat

    Reply

Leave a comment